Agricultural and Seasonal Workforce Services Advisory Committee

(en español)

On May 21, 2019, the Governor signed Engrossed Second Substitute Senate Bill 5438 (C 441, L 2020) establishing the Office of Agricultural and Seasonal Workforce Services and associated Advisory Committee.  The bill clarifies the state’s role in the H-2A temporary agricultural program to provide adequate protections for foreign and domestic workers, and provide education and outreach opportunities to help growers maintain the stable workforce they need. The bill directs the new office to carry out the Employment Security Department’s oversight and outreach responsibilities as they pertain to the H-2A program.

 The key responsibilities of the Advisory Committee include advising the Department on the Office’s operations and submitting a report to the Legislature and Governor in even-numbered years that:

  • Identifies and recommends approaches to increase the effectiveness of the Department’s recruitment process as part of the H-2A application, which may include recommended changes to state law that would increase the recruitment and hiring of domestic agriculture workers in Washington, and
  • Analyzes the cost incurred by the Department to administer the H-2A and other farmworker programs and the amount of funds allocated by the federal government to administer the H-2A program and all other programs within the Department.



  • January 16, 2020 - 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  
    WorkSource Skagit

    2005 E College Way
    Mount Vernon, WA  98273

Sign up to receive meeting announcements and other information.

Advisory committee contacts at the Employment Security Department:

Dan Zeitlin
Director, Policy, Data, Performance and Integrity Division

Wendy Goldmark
Administrative Assistant

Advisory Committee Voting Members

Michele Besso
Representing Agricultural Workers
Attorney, Northwest Justice Project

Jon DeVaney
Representing Agricultural Employers
President, Washington State Tree Fruit Association

Mike Gempler
Representing Agricultural Employers
Executive Director, Washington Growers League


Rosalinda Guillen
Representing Agricultural Workers
Executive Director, Community to Community

Rosella Mosby (Employer)
Representing Agricultural Employers
Owner Operator, Mosby Farms

Erik Nicholson
Representing Agricultural Workers
Vice-President, United Farm Workers

Delia Pena
Representing Agricultural Employers
Director of Orchard HR and H-2A, Zirkle Fruit Company

Ramon Torres (Farmworker)
Representing Agricultural Workers
President, Familias Unidas por la Justicia

Advisory Committee Non- Voting Members (Agency)

Uriel Iniguez
Representing Department of Labor and Industries
Director, Community Relations

Ignacio Marquez
Representing Department of Agriculture
Regional Assistant to the Director - Eastern/Central WA

Todd Phillips
Representing Department of Health
Director, Environmental Health & Safety

Dan Zeitlin
Advisory Committee Chair
Representing Employment Security Department
Director, Policy, Data, Performance and Integrity Division

This committee was formed in accordance with statute which requires four members representing agricultural workers; four members representing agricultural employers; and four ex-officio members representing state agencies. Meetings are open to all interested parties who wish to attend and are a matter of public record.

Sign up to receive email updates from the Agriculture and Seasonal Workforce Services Advisory Committee.