Federal pandemic unemployment benefits ended
The CARES Act and other federal programs expanded and extended unemployment benefits for many claimants. The week ending Sept. 4, 2021, was the last payable week for:
The additional $300 per week for all eligible claimants also expired on Sept. 4, 2021. By federal law, all claimants were getting $300 in addition to their usual weekly benefit amount for a limited time, except those receiving Training Benefits.
For those with claims pending in adjudication or appeal after Sept. 4:
Benefits will be available. If we find that you are eligible, we will pay benefits for weeks claimed before Sept. 4, 2021.
What all claimants should do:
- Continue filing weekly claims for weeks you want to get benefits.
- Watch for updates on this page, via email, social media and messages in eServices.
- Respond to any of our requests for information. Even if you have stopped claiming or found a job, we still might need to contact you.
- Please try not to call our Unemployment Claims Center with general questions. Call volume remains high. Find the latest information on this page and in the COVID-19 Q&As.
What if I’m still denied benefits for weeks I claimed on my regular unemployment (UI), Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) or Extended Benefits (EB) claims?
If you haven’t already filed an application for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) and you were denied benefits on a regular claim, you must have applied for PUA by October 6, 2021, which is 30 days after the end of the program. If approved, weeks you were disqualified that fall within the eligible period for PUA will be transferred to your PUA claim.
To request to file a PUA application more than 30 days after the expiration of the program, you must meet the following criteria:
- Filed a UI claim prior to October 7, 2021.
- Received a determination denying regular UI/PEUC/EB benefits dated October 7, 2021 or later for weeks within the PUA payable period of February 2, 2020 and September 4, 2021. This determination can be a monetary, nonmonetary or appeal decision.
- Requested to apply for PUA within 21 days of the date of your UI denial determination.
Information for workers
For questions about how unemployment, standby, the waiting week, and more have been affected by COVID-19, please see our Q&A for workers.
Information for employers
For businesses looking for updates on how COVID-19 has impacted unemployment insurance, quarterly reporting, and more, please see our Q&A for businesses.
- Should you apply for unemployment benefits or paid leave? See Q&A for workers.
- Visit the Employment Security Department's COVID-19 rulemaking
- Learn about other resources that may be available to you at Washington state’s COVID-19 website. Visit wa.gov.
- Get the most recent updates from Governor Jay Inslee.
- The Washington State Department of Health’s website is the place to go for the best local information about COVID-19 in Washington state.
- If you have questions or concerns related to your health, call the state Department of Health at 800-525-0127, and press #.
- The CDC website is an excellent source of information, including guidelines for businesses.
- The World Health Organization (WHO) has a mythbusters website with advice for the public.
- The Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) website has information about community programs and eligibility.
- The Washington Department of Financial Institutions has a list of financial resources for consumers impacted by COVID-19.
- A comprehensive list of state resources is available on the governor's coronavirus page.