Employment Security leadership

Commissioner Suzan "Suzi" LeVine

 Commissioner Suzan "Suzi" LeVine

Suzan “Suzi” LeVine was appointed by Governor Inslee as Commissioner for the Employment Security Department (ESD) on July 9, 2018. At a time when society is experiencing massive technological and demographic shifts, she brings relevant leadership experience and expertise from the public, private, and non-profit sectors to help people navigate their paths forward to be lifelong career ready.

She served as U.S. Ambassador to Switzerland and Liechtenstein from June 2014 until January 2017. During that time, she played a key role in the signing of a Joint Declaration of Intent between Switzerland and the U.S. to collaborate on apprenticeship, partnering with 30 companies to bring and/or expand their Swiss style apprenticeship model into the U.S. She also secured billions of dollars in investment and hundreds of jobs into the U.S. – with $3 billion alone announced at a special White House roundtable she catalyzed with Swiss business and government leaders.

Since resigning her position, she has continued her focus on and passion for apprenticeship and careers by joining Governor Inslee’s Career Connect Washington Task Force, the CareerWise Colorado board, the Markle Foundation’s Rework America Task Force, and the ETH (a Swiss university) Center on the Economics and Management of Education and Training (CEMETS) Advisory Board. She and her husband, Eric, have presented across the globe about the merits of apprenticeship and reigniting new pathways to the American Dream.

Her role in the public sector as Ambassador is the latest turn in a diverse and non-linear career in which she has sustained a laser focus on impact. Her previous private and non-profit sector positions focused on education, technology, community, innovation, travel, social responsibility, and youth outreach.  She’s worked at Microsoft as a Director of Communications for Education and Student Developer Strategic Partnerships and at Expedia as a Vice President for Sales and Marketing in Luxury Travel. Twice during her career, she was a stay-at-home mom, during which time she co-founded two non-profit organizations – an innovative Jewish community model, The Kavana Cooperative, and an advisory board for the Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences (ILABS) at the University of Washington.

As Commissioner, Suzi was recently appointed to the National Association of State Workforce Agencies Board of Directors, representing Region X.

Suzi is a graduate of Brown University with a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering with aerospace applications.  She and her husband have two children. They enjoy hiking, biking, traveling and playing with their dogs.

Commissioner LeVine’s Confirmation Hearing: Written Testimony | Video

Contact Suzi: 360-902-9500 

Like and follow Suzi on:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram   

Executive Leadership Team
ESD org chart (pdf)

See our Contact us page for more contact information.