Lo sentimos. Aún no hemos traducido esta página al español. Avísenos si desea que esto sea una prioridad y traduciremos la página lo antes posible.

We're sorry. We have not yet translated this page into Spanish. Please let us know if you want us to make it a priority and we will work to translate it as soon as possible.

Solicitar traducción Request translation

Gracias, su solicitud ha sido presentada. Thank you, your request has been submitted.

Unemployment Insurance Advisory Committee


About the Advisory Committee 

The Unemployment Insurance Advisory Committee (UIAC) The Committee is made up of nine individuals appointed by the Commissioner. Three members appointed to represent employers. Three members appointed to represent employees. Three members appointed to represent the general public: RCW 50.12. 200. The Commissioner also delegates a representative from ESD to serve as Chair of the Committee.  The purpose of the committee is to aid the commissioner in formulating policies and discussing problems related to the administration of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) program and assuring impartiality and freedom from political influence in the solution of such problems: RCW 50.12.200.  In doing so, the Committee provides comment on unemployment insurance policy, operations, and performance management, as well as other issues the Committee determines to require its consideration. The Committee provides a forum for listening to concerns of stakeholders and seeking input to improve the program to best serve workers and business. 


Sign up to receive meeting announcements and other information  

Next meeting

Wednesday, June 14, 2023 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


Join Zoom Meeting


Meeting ID: 838 0501 1304

One tap mobile: +12532158782,,83805011304# US (Tacoma)

Recording Disclaimer: This meeting is being recorded and will be live-streamed by TVW. Please be advised that your image and voice will be captured and recorded during the videoconference. Your participation in this videoconference equals consent to be recorded as required by law.

Committee Members

Department Representative:

JR Richards, Unemployment Insurance Customer Service Director


Employee Representatives:

Cindy Richardson, UNITE HERE Local 8
Josh Swanson, Operating Engineers 302
Brenda Wiest, Teamsters 117


Employer Representatives:

Bob Battles, Association of Washington Business
Julia Gorton, Washington Hospitality Association
Tammie Hetrick, WA Food Industry Association

General Public Representatives:

Anne Paxton, Unemployment Law Project
William Westmoreland, Pacific Mountain Workforce Development Council
Courtney Williams, Community Employment Alliance

Employment Security Department Committee Contacts


JR Richards
Director, Unemployment Insurance Customer Support Division


Camille Galeno