Employment Security Advisory Committee (ESAC)

ESAC was formed in August 2013 in collaboration with Washington Governor Jay Inslee’s office. The goal of the committee is to help ESD implement our new strategy and goals and to help us stay aligned with Governor Inslee’s Results Washington.

The committee focuses on Washington's employment system as a whole, including:

  • Workforce and career development
  • Unemployment insurance (UI)
  • UI-related programs that lead to a thriving economy, quality jobs, and expanded career opportunities for all Washingtonians.

Next Meeting

  • October 21, 2019, 1 to 3 p.m.
    Location:  Employment Security Department, Maple Leaf Meeting Room
    212 Maple Park Ave. SE, Olympia, WA 98501

ESAC Contacts at Employment Security Department:

Cami Feek
Deputy Commissioner

Bianca Stoner
Legislative and Executive Policy Analyst

ESAC Committee Members

Gary Chandler
Representing Business
Vice President of Governmental Affairs, Association of Washington Businesses

Mike Gempler
Representing Business
Executive Director, Washington Growers League

Mark Johnson
Representing Business
Vice President, Government Affairs, Washington Retail Association

Joe Kendo
Representing Labor
Governmental Affairs Director, Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO

Chelsea Mason
Representing Labor
Legislative and Political Director – Aerospace Machinists 751

Linda Nguyen
Representing At-Large
Washington WorkForce Association and Chief Executive Officer for WorkForce Central

Mark Riker
Representing Labor
Executive Secretary, Washington State Building and Construction Trades Council, AFL-CIO

John Tirpak
Representing At-Large
Executive Director/Attorney, Unemployment Law Project

Rob Van Alyne
Representing At-Large
Director, Eastern Washington Partnership Workforce Development, Rural Resources Community Action


This council was formed in accordance with statute (
RCW 50.12.200) which requires three business, three labor, and three at-large members for a board comprised of nine. Meetings are open to all interested parties who wish to attend and are a matter of public record.