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Washington Administrative Code (WAC): Chapter 192-250 Shared Work Program

Ryna’s remodeling company is experiencing supply delays, and it’s impacting a few 

jobsites. She employs 40 individuals.

In lieu of layoffs. Ryna has enough work for 32 full-time employees. The employer 

can avert the continued layoff of 8 full-time employees by keeping all 40 

employees and reducing the workweek. 

Reduced workweek. The employer reduced the workweek from 40 hours to 32 

hours, which is a reduction of 20 percent and permissible under state law, 

anywhere from 10-50% is an acceptable reduction each week with SharedWork. 

Summary. The 40 returning employees would each receive 80 percent of their 

wages from their employer, while also remaining eligible for 20 percent of their 

respective weekly benefit amount under SharedWork.

Scenario: 20 percent payroll reduction

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-250&full=true


SharedWork usage by county
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County

Businesses 
eligible for

SharedWork in 
this county
(estimated)

Businesses 
currently 

participating 
in 

SharedWork

Employees 
participating in 

SharedWork 
(enrolled by their 

employer)

Adams 290 0 0

Asotin 232 0 0

Benton 2,225 22 410

Chelan 1,430 19 420

Clallam 930 4 77

Clark 5,966 41 399

Columbia 83 0 0

Cowlitz 1,134 6 436

Douglas 392 5 125

Ferry 85 0 0

Franklin 1,021 1 3

Garfield 22 0 0

Grant 1,197 11 169

Grays Harbor 843 7 217

Island 836 9 190

County

Businesses 
eligible for

SharedWork in 
this county
(estimated)

Businesses 
currently 

participating 
in 

SharedWork

Employees 
participating in 

SharedWork 
(enrolled by 

their employer)

Jefferson 432 6 67

King 33,991 236 5,014

Kitsap 2,670 18 264

Kittitas 616 2 9

Klickitat 300 4 64

Lewis 923 17 238

Lincoln 116 0 0

Mason 518 4 37

Okanogan 606 2 9

Pacific 319 0 0

Pend Oreille 125 1 2

Pierce 8,368 99 2,987

San Juan 464 3 11

Skagit 1,659 17 241

Skamania 88 1 2

County

Businesses 
eligible for

SharedWork in 
this county
(estimated)

Businesses 
currently 

participating 
in 

SharedWork

Employees 
participating in 

SharedWork 
(enrolled by 

their employer)

Snohomish 8,179 77 1,456

Spokane 6,218 55 1,585

Stevens 391 1 2

Thurston 3,427 34 490

Wahkiakum 46 0 0

Walla Walla 786 10 90

Whatcom 3,111 46 880

Whitman 444 1 17

Yakima 2,549 20 250

Other 9,464 152 5,665

Total 93,033 779 16,161

The table below shows active SharedWork 
plans in the state of Washington as reported 
in the January 2023 SharedWork hot sheet.

* This report represents 

number through Dec. 2022

https://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/WAESD/bulletins/33ce8c76


With SharedWork 
All employees working 
20% fewer hours.

Without SharedWork
20% employees laid off 

Laid off 
worker

Full-time 
employee

Average Weekly Income 
(before reduction)

$800
$20 x 40 hrs

$800
$20 x 40 hrs
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n Hours worked 0 40

Weekly Benefit 
(Unemployment Insurance)

$400 $0

Weekly Wage 0 $800

Weekly Income 
without SharedWork

$400 $800

Full-time 
employee at 

20% reduction

Part-time 
employee at 

20% reduction

Average Weekly Income
(before reduction)

$800
$20 x 40 hrs 

$600
$20 x 30 hrs
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n Hours worked 
(reduced by 20%)

32 24

Weekly Benefit 
(Unemployment Insurance)

$80 $60

Weekly Wage $640 $480

Weekly Income 
with SharedWork

$720 $540

Scenario: 20 percent payroll reduction



SharedWork Requirements

Employer Requirements for SharedWork:

1. Must be a legally registered business in 

Washington state.

2. Must have an Employment Security Department 

(ESD) number.

3. Must have at least two permanent employees, 

who are not corporate officers, affected by a 

reduction in hours and wages. 

4. Continue to provide same benefits to employees. 

Employee Requirements for SharedWork:

1. Employee must qualify for a valid claim. (680 hours)

2. All permanent employees may participate in 

SharedWork. 

3. Be able and available for all scheduled hours by 

SharedWork employer.



How It Works

1 2 3 4 5

The employer calls 
SharedWork at 

800-752-2500 option 3 
to check business 

eligibility. 

Once the employer 
plan is approved, each 
participant submits an 
Employee Application 

and begins filing 
weekly claims.

The employer 
representative checks 

the weekly 
SharedWork Payments 

Report for accuracy.

The employee receives 
earned wages and a 

share of 
unemployment 

insurance benefits 
when hours are 

reduced.

The employer assigns 
a SharedWork 

representative and 
submits an Employer 
Plan Application and

a Participant List.

APPLICATION PARTICIPANT 
LIST



Employer enrollment options

Apply by eServices, 
electronic upload or fax
1. Download the Employer plan application 

(pdf). If you need more space to add 
employee names, download the 
Participant list (Excel)

2. Here you can Upload all documents 
directly to the SharedWork Unit, or Fax to 
800-701-7754

Remember to: 
• Include your company’s name in the 

file name
• Sign and date all forms
• Obtain the signature for the 

collective bargaining agent, if 
applicable.
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https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/SW-Employer-Application-WITHOUT-Employee-List.pdf
https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/SharedWork-Participant-List.xlsx
https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/file/swupload


“I think SharedWork is a great signal to your people:-

come back to work, get back to work, and sign up for 

SharedWork! It could be a great tool in building up your 

team and moving forward as you try to figure out the next 

few years of being short [on] workers, and how to retain 

the great ones you have.”

Washington Hospitality Association

Statewide

“Client care has ebbed and flowed based on the pandemic, and 

Shared Work has given us the flexibility to take care of our 

staff, while saving payroll when there isn’t enough work – (as a 

non-profit, this is especially important!)”

Pushing Boundaries

Bellevue, WA

"Our employees are thankful we used it, and happy 

they do not have to draw full unemployment. There are 

so many advantages to SharedWork. We do not know 

what the future will bring. Get approved for 

SharedWork!“

Spokane Galvanizing

Airway Heights, WA

“What felt like the right thing for our employees was not just to 

pick five or ten of our newest employees and let them go 

because of the pandemic …  and so SharedWork saved us!”

Kulshan Brewing

Bellingham, WA

Winning with SharedWork



Contact SharedWork

More ways to learn about SharedWork

• Watch a commercial by clicking here. 

• The SharedWork program will be hosting many 

regional and statewide free virtual events for 

employers in Washington. Check out our event 

lineup: esd.wa.gov/SharedWork/events

• The SharedWork program will be hosting weekly 

webinars through the year end to help 

businesses get informed. Wednesdays 11:15 

a.m. SharedWork Q&A for businesses. Click 

here to register.

• Download the SharedWork info card by 

clicking here.

Employers can verify their eligibility in 

minutes and get answers by calling 

800-752-2500 and choosing Option 3.

800-752-2500
8am to 4pm, Monday through Friday

Option 1 – Claims

Option 2 – Existing Plans

Option 3 – New Plan Inquiry

Option 4 – I was asked to call

sharedworkplansect@esd.wa.gov

https://youtu.be/apAufybRrrY
https://esd.wa.gov/SharedWork/events
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/381202245177
https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/esd-sharedwork-rackcard-11222021.pdf
mailto:sharedworkplansect@esd.wa.gov


Jason Barrett
Lead Policy Analyst
Leave and Care Division
Employment Security Department

PFML Overview



What is Paid Family and Medical Leave?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 12

Paid leave from work to care for yourself or 

a family member.

You apply directly with the state, not your 

employer.

Benefit is paid directly to you, not through 

your employer.

Your employer cannot prevent you from 

using Paid Family and Medical Leave.



Two-part eligibility
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• At one employer or 

cumulatively.
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• Serious health 

condition (your own 

or a family 

member’s).

• Birth or placement.

• Military events.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 13



Family leave

• Care for a family member with a 
serious health condition.

• Bonding in the first year after the 
birth or placement of a child under 
18, including adoption and foster 
parents.

• Military family leave.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 14



Family defined

Child (step, in-law)
Grandchild
Spouse/Domestic Partner
Sibling (step)
Parent (step, in-law)

Loco Parentis
Legal Guardian
De Facto Parent

Grandparent (in-law)

15Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department

Any individual who regularly resides in 
the employee's home or where the 
relationship creates an expectation that 
the employee care for the person, and 
that individual depends on the 
employee for care*

*Implemented by SB 5097 in 2021 legislative session



Medical leave

• Time to receive treatment or recover 
from a serious health condition.

• Could include:

• Cancer treatment

• Dialysis

• Chronic serious condition

• Treatment for substance abuse

• In-patient mental health care

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 16



What’s a “serious health condition”?

• Generally includes serious 

illnesses and injuries, chronic 

conditions and some substance 

abuse and mental health 

treatment.

• Defined in the law.

• Up to a healthcare provider to 

diagnose and certify.

• Generally does not 

include common cold, 

flu, earaches, upset 

stomach, headaches 

(other than migraines) 

and cosmetic treatments. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 17



What is a “claim year”?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 18

Sun Mon Tues Weds Thurs Fri Sat

1 2 3 4 5 6 8

9 10 11 12 13 14 15

16 17 18 19 20 21 22

23 24 25 26 27 28 29

30

• Typically, your claim year 
begins on the Sunday of 
the week you submit your 
initial application.

• Your claim year expires 52 
weeks later.

• If you submit a second (or 
third) application in a year, 
your claim year does not 
restart. 

Application

submitted

Claim year

starts



What is a “week”?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 19

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

A week starts on Sunday and ends the following Saturday.

• Your “typical workweek hours” are the average number of hours you 

worked per week during the qualifying period. 
• Salaried, full-time employees are always calculated at 40 hours per week.

• Your typical workweek hours are multiplied by the maximum number of 

weeks allowed for your event, creating a bank of hours you draw from 

while on leave.



Weeks of leave in a claim year

12 weeks*

Medical OR 

family leave.

16 weeks*

Combined 

medical and 

family leave.

18 weeks*

Combined 

medical and 

family leave + 

two weeks for 

pregnancy/birth 

complications

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 20

OR OR

* “Weeks” = typical workweeks 



Filing weekly claims

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 21

Once your application is 

approved, you can file weekly 

claims by clicking, “Start weekly 

payments” on your homepage, or 

by clicking the claim ID on the 

homepage.

Weekly claims for each week of 

your approved leave will display 

in the table.

Click the, “Start Weekly Payment” 

button to submit a weekly claim.



When will benefit payments be less?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 22

If your leave start date is 

not on Sunday, your first 

and last weeks’ payments 

will be reduced.

If you’re taking 

intermittent leave.

If you work or use PTO 

during a week (unless the 

PTO is a supplemental 

benefit).



Supplemental 
benefits
• A payment from an employer to 

an employee to make up the 
difference between their regular 
wage and the benefit paid by Paid 
Leave. 
• Employers do not have to offer 

it, and employees do not have 
to accept it.

• It could be salary continuation 
(top off) or paid time off (PTO).

• Ask your employer whether your 
PTO is a supplemental benefit. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 23



Employment restoration

Return 

to the 

same or 

similar 

position 

if you:

Work for an employer with 50 or more 

employees. 

Have worked for that employer for at least 1 

year.

Have worked 1250 hours for that employer 

in the last year.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 24



FMLA and PFML

Paid Family and Medical Leave is 

similar but entirely separate.

• It is possible to use both types of leave.

• Using FMLA does not diminish Paid Leave 

benefits.

Job protections under FMLA and Paid 

Family and Medical Leave are similar.

• Usually run concurrently when people are 

eligible for both. 



Family Leave
(50.48%)

Medical Leave
(49.52%)

Total Premium Rate
(0.8%)

72.76% 
Employee

27.24% 
Employer

0.6% base rate + 0.2% solvency rate = 0.8%

2023 Premium Rate



Total Premium Employee Portion Employer Portion

2022 

0.6% rate with 51% Family and 49% Medical

Minimum Wage (15.74/hr or $32,729/yr) $3.78 $2.77 $1.01

Average Wage ($82,513/yr) $9.52 $6.97 $2.55

2023 Social Security Cap ($160,200/yr) $18.48 $13.53 $4.95

2023

0.8% rate with 50% Family and 50% Medical

Minimum Wage (15.74/hr or $32,729/yr) $5.04 $3.66 $1.37

Average Wage ($82,513/yr) $12.69 $9.24 $3.46

2023 Social Security Cap ($160,200/yr) $24.65 $17.93 $6.71

Weekly Premium per Employee



SB 5649 (2022) 

• Compassion leave as a new qualifying event

• Up to seven days of family leave following the death of a child:

• That the employee did or would have qualified for medical leave for their own serious health condition (prenatal care, 

postnatal, birth); or

• That the employee did or would have qualified for family leave to bond with a new child in the home.

• Postnatal leave as medical leave

• Leave within the first six weeks after an employee gives birth qualifies for medical leave if the employee so chooses and is 

otherwise eligible. 

• In such cases, a medical certification is not required.

• Collective bargaining agreement exemption

• The provision that exempts employers from reporting employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement that was in 

effect on October 19, 2017 and has not expired or been renegotiated or reopened as described in RCW 50A.05.090 will sunset 

on December 31, 2023. 

• List of voluntary plan employers

• Creates task forces and actuary services to make recommendations to ensure long-term solvency

• Collect data related to Covid 19 and PFML



HB 2076 (2022) 

• Establishes that “drivers” employed by “transportation network companies” are exempt 

from the definition of “employees” for the purposes of PFML  



Penalties

• “Conference and Conciliation”

• RCW 50A.20.030

• WAC 192-570-010

• The department has a clear directive to work with employers to 

correct good-faith errors without assessing a penalty

• Localization



Privacy

• Chapter 50A.25 RCW

• The department is bound by statute to protect the privacy of employees utilizing the Paid 

Family and Medical Leave program

• Employer-employee communication is important

• There is nothing in statute that prevents an employer from implementing HR practices that 

require employees to share information related to their leave



Contact us

833-717-2273 paidleave@esd.wa.gov paidleave.wa.gov





Next webinar



Next webinar



Thank you for joining us today 


