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SharedWork - A proven business solution!



What is it? 

SharedWork is an opt-in program and excellent business resource to 
help stabilize the operations of most businesses during temporary 
economic setbacks. 

 Employers keep their workforce intact by temporarily reducing hours to 
save payroll costs and keep the business operating.

 SharedWork pays employees a prorated percentage of unemployment 
insurance benefits. 

 Eligibility is open to most business and industries to use when needed.
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https://esd.wa.gov/SharedWork


Washington Administrative Code (WAC): Chapter 192-250 Shared Work Program

Ryna’s remodeling company is experiencing supply delays, and it’s impacting a few 

jobsites. She employs 40 individuals.

In lieu of layoffs. Ryna has enough work for 32 full-time employees. The employer 

can avert the continued layoff of 8 full-time employees by keeping all 40 

employees and reducing the workweek. 

Reduced workweek. The employer reduced the workweek from 40 hours to 32 

hours, which is a reduction of 20 percent and permissible under state law, 

anywhere from 10-50% is an acceptable reduction each week with SharedWork. 

Summary. The 40 returning employees would each receive 80 percent of their 

wages from their employer, while also remaining eligible for 20 percent of their 

respective weekly benefit amount under SharedWork.

Scenario: 20 percent payroll reduction

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-250&full=true


With SharedWork 
40 employees working 
20% fewer hours.

Without SharedWork
8 employees laid off 
32 employees full-time

Laid off 
worker

Full-time 
employee

Average Weekly Income 
(before reduction)

$800
$20 x 40 hrs

$800
$20 x 40 hrs
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n Hours worked 0 40

Weekly Benefit 
(Unemployment Insurance) $400 $0

Weekly Wage 0 $800

Weekly Income 
without SharedWork $400 $800

Full-time 
employee at 

20% reduction

Part-time 
employee at 

20% reduction

Average Weekly Income
(before reduction)

$800
$20 x 40 hrs 

$600
$20 x 30 hrs
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n Hours worked 
(reduced by 20%) 32 24

Weekly Benefit 
(Unemployment Insurance) $80 $60

Weekly Wage $640 $480

Weekly Income 
with SharedWork $720 $540

Scenario: 20 percent payroll reduction



SharedWork Requirements

Employer Requirements for SharedWork:

1. Must be a legally registered business in 

Washington state.

2. Must have an Employment Security Department 

(ESD) number.

3. Must have at least two permanent employees, 

who are not corporate officers, affected by a 

reduction in hours and wages. 

4. Continue to provide same benefits to employees. 

Employee Requirements for SharedWork:

1. Employee must qualify for a valid claim. (680 hours)

2. All permanent employees may participate in 

SharedWork. 

3. Be able and available for all scheduled hours by 

SharedWork employer.



How It Works

1 2 3 4 5

The employer calls 
SharedWork at 

800-752-2500 option 3 
to check business 

eligibility. 

Once the employer 
plan is approved, each 
participant submits an 
Employee Application 

and begins filing 
weekly claims.

The employer 
representative checks 

the weekly 
SharedWork Payments 

Report for accuracy.

The employee receives 
earned wages and a 

share of 
unemployment 

insurance benefits 
when hours are 

reduced.

The employer assigns 
a SharedWork 

representative and 
submits an Employer 
Plan Application and

a Participant List.

APPLICATION PARTICIPANT 
LIST





Online enrollment – quick and easy
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Apply through 
eServices
If you have ever paid taxes online with 
EAMS (Employer Account 
Management Services), you must use 
the same SAW account.

secure.esd.wa.gov - Link to site

Questions?
For help signing into eServices, 
see https://esd.wa.gov/unemploy
ment/technical-support.

SAW Help Desk 855-682-0785 -

https://secure.esd.wa.gov/home/
https://esd.wa.gov/unemployment/technical-support


Employer enrollment options

Apply by eServices, 
electronic upload or fax
1. Download the Employer plan application 

(pdf). If you need more space to add 
employee names, download the 
Participant list (Excel)

2. Here you can Upload all documents 
directly to the SharedWork Unit, or Fax to 
800-701-7754

Remember to: 
• Include your company’s name in the 

file name
• Sign and date all forms
• Obtain the signature for the 

collective bargaining agent, if 
applicable.
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https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/SW-Employer-Application-WITHOUT-Employee-List.pdf
https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/SharedWork-Participant-List.xlsx
https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/file/swupload


“I think SharedWork is a great signal to your people:-
come back to work, get back to work, and sign up for 
SharedWork! It could be a great tool in building up your 
team and moving forward as you try to figure out the next 
few years of being short [on] workers, and how to retain 
the great ones you have.”

Washington Hospitality Association

Statewide

“Client care has ebbed and flowed based on the pandemic, and 
Shared Work has given us the flexibility to take care of our 
staff, while saving payroll when there isn’t enough work – (as a 
non-profit, this is especially important!)”

Pushing Boundaries
Bellevue, WA

"Our employees are thankful we used it, and happy 
they do not have to draw full unemployment. There are 
so many advantages to SharedWork. We do not know 
what the future will bring. Get approved for 
SharedWork!“

Spokane Galvanizing
Airway Heights, WA

“What felt like the right thing for our employees was not just to 
pick five or ten of our newest employees and let them go 
because of the pandemic …  and so SharedWork saved us!”

Kulshan Brewing
Bellingham, WA

Winning with SharedWork



Contact SharedWork

More ways to learn about SharedWork

• Watch a commercial by clicking here. 
• The SharedWork program will be hosting many 

regional and statewide free virtual events for 
employers in Washington. Check out our event 
lineup: esd.wa.gov/SharedWork/events

• The SharedWork program will be hosting weekly 
webinars through the year end to help 
businesses get informed. Wednesdays 11:15 
a.m. SharedWork Q&A for businesses. Click 
here to register.

• Download the SharedWork info card by 
clicking here.

Employers can verify their eligibility in 
minutes and get answers by calling 
800-752-2500 and choosing Option 3.

800-752-2500
8am to 4pm, Monday through Friday

Option 1 – Claims
Option 2 – Existing Plans
Option 3 – New Plan Inquiry
Option 4 – I was asked to call
sharedworkplansect@esd.wa.gov

https://youtu.be/apAufybRrrY
https://esd.wa.gov/SharedWork/events
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/381202245177
https://media.esd.wa.gov/esdwa/Default/ESDWAGOV/about-employees/shared-work/esd-sharedwork-rackcard-11222021.pdf
mailto:sharedworkplansect@esd.wa.gov


Jason Barrett
Lead Policy Analyst
Leave and Care Division
Employment Security Department

PFML Overview



What is Paid Family and Medical Leave?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 14

Paid leave from work to care for yourself or 
a family member.

You apply directly with the state, not your 
employer.

Benefit is paid directly to you, not through 
your employer.

Your employer cannot prevent you from 
using Paid Family and Medical Leave.



Two-part eligibility
H

ou
rs

 w
or

ke
d • 820 hours in the 

qualifying period 
(about the last year).

• At one employer or 
cumulatively.

Q
ua

lif
yi

ng
 e

ve
nt • Serious health 

condition (your own 
or a family 
member’s).

• Birth or placement.
• Military events.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 15



Family leave

• Care for a family member with a 
serious health condition.

• Bonding in the first year after the 
birth or placement of a child under 
18, including adoption and foster 
parents.

• Military family leave.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 16



Family defined
Child (step, in-law)
Grandchild
Spouse/Domestic Partner
Sibling (step)
Parent (step, in-law)

Loco Parentis
Legal Guardian
De Facto Parent

Grandparent (in-law)

17Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department

Any individual who regularly resides in 
the employee's home or where the 
relationship creates an expectation that 
the employee care for the person, and 
that individual depends on the 
employee for care*

*Implemented by SB 5097 in 2021 legislative session



Medical leave

• Time to receive treatment or recover 
from a serious health condition.

• Could include:
• Cancer treatment
• Dialysis
• Chronic serious condition
• Treatment for substance abuse
• In-patient mental health care

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 18



What’s a “serious health condition”?

• Generally includes serious 
illnesses and injuries, chronic 
conditions and some 
substance abuse and mental 
health treatment.

• Defined in the law.
• Up to a healthcare provider to 

diagnose and certify.

• Generally does not 
include common cold, 
flu, earaches, upset 
stomach, headaches 
(other than migraines) 
and cosmetic 
treatments. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 19



What is a “claim year”?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 20

Sun Mon Tues Weds Thurs Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 8

9 10 11 12 13 14 15

16 17 18 19 20 21 22

23 24 25 26 27 28 29

30

• Typically, your claim year 
begins on the Sunday of 
the week you submit your 
initial application.

• Your claim year expires 52 
weeks later.

• If you submit a second (or 
third) application in a year, 
your claim year does not 
restart. 

Application
submitted

Claim year
starts



What is a “week”?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 21

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

A week starts on Sunday and ends the following Saturday.

• Your “typical workweek hours” are the average number of hours you 
worked per week during the qualifying period. 

• Salaried, full-time employees are always calculated at 40 hours per week.
• Your typical workweek hours are multiplied by the maximum number of 

weeks allowed for your event, creating a bank of hours you draw from 
while on leave.



Weeks of leave in a claim year

12 weeks*

Medical OR 
family leave.

16 
weeks*

Combined 
medical and 
family leave.

18 
weeks*Combined 
medical and 

family leave + 
two weeks for 
pregnancy/birt

h 
complications

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 22

OR OR

* “Weeks” = typical workweeks 



Filing weekly claims

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 23

Once your application is 
approved, you can file weekly 
claims by clicking, “Start weekly 
payments” on your homepage, or 
by clicking the claim ID on the 
homepage.

Weekly claims for each week of 
your approved leave will display 
in the table.

Click the, “Start Weekly Payment” 
button to submit a weekly claim.



When will benefit payments be less?

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 24

If your leave start date 
is not on Sunday, your 
first and last weeks’ 
payments will be 
reduced.

If you’re taking 
intermittent leave.

If you work or use PTO 
during a week (unless 
the PTO is a 
supplemental benefit).



Supplemental 
benefits
• A payment from an employer to 

an employee to make up the 
difference between their regular 
wage and the benefit paid by Paid 
Leave. 

• Employers do not have to offer 
it, and employees do not have 
to accept it.

• It could be salary continuation 
(top off) or paid time off (PTO).

• Ask your employer whether your 
PTO is a supplemental benefit. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 25



Employment restoration

Return 
to the 
same or 
similar 
position 
if you:

Work for an employer with 50 or more 
employees. 

Have worked for that employer for at least 1 
year.

Have worked 1250 hours for that employer 
in the last year.

Paid Family and Medical Leave | Employment Security Department 26



FMLA and PFML

Paid Family and Medical Leave is 
similar but entirely separate.
• It is possible to use both types of leave.
• Using FMLA does not diminish Paid Leave 

benefits.

Job protections under FMLA and Paid 
Family and Medical Leave are similar.
• Usually run concurrently when people are 

eligible for both. 



Family Leave
(50.48%)

Medical Leave
(49.52%)

Total Premium Rate
(0.8%)

72.76% 
Employee

27.24% 
Employer

0.6% base rate + 0.2% solvency rate = 0.8%

2023 Premium Rate



Total Premium Employee Portion Employer Portion

2022 
0.6% rate with 51% Family and 49% Medical

Minimum Wage (15.74/hr or $32,729/yr) $3.78 $2.77 $1.01
Average Wage ($82,513/yr) $9.52 $6.97 $2.55

2023 Social Security Cap ($160,200/yr) $18.48 $13.53 $4.95
2023
0.8% rate with 50% Family and 50% Medical

Minimum Wage (15.74/hr or $32,729/yr) $5.04 $3.66 $1.37
Average Wage ($82,513/yr) $12.69 $9.24 $3.46

2023 Social Security Cap ($160,200/yr) $24.65 $17.93 $6.71

Weekly Premium per Employee



SB 5649 (2022) 

• Compassion leave as a new qualifying event
• Up to seven days of family leave following the death of a child:

• That the employee did or would have qualified for medical leave for their own serious health condition (prenatal care, 
postnatal, birth); or

• That the employee did or would have qualified for family leave to bond with a new child in the home.

• Postnatal leave as medical leave
• Leave within the first six weeks after an employee gives birth qualifies for medical leave if the employee so chooses and is 

otherwise eligible. 
• In such cases, a medical certification is not required.

• Collective bargaining agreement exemption
• The provision that exempts employers from reporting employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement that was in 

effect on October 19, 2017 and has not expired or been renegotiated or reopened as described in RCW 50A.05.090 will sunset 
on December 31, 2023. 

• List of voluntary plan employers

• Creates task forces and actuary services to make recommendations to ensure long-term solvency

• Collect data related to Covid 19 and PFML



HB 2076 (2022) 

• Establishes that “drivers” employed by “transportation network companies” are exempt 
from the definition of “employees” for the purposes of PFML  



Penalties

• “Conference and Conciliation”
• RCW 50A.20.030
• WAC 192-570-010

• The department has a clear directive to work with employers to 
correct good-faith errors without assessing a penalty

• Localization



Privacy

• Chapter 50A.25 RCW

• The department is bound by statute to protect the privacy of employees utilizing the Paid 
Family and Medical Leave program

• Employer-employee communication is important

• There is nothing in statute that prevents an employer from implementing HR practices that 
require employees to share information related to their leave





Next webinar



Thank you for joining us today 


