Washington State Employment Security Department

Labor Market and Economic Analysis

Eighteen Counties on the Distressed Areas List for 2008

5/1/2008

The Distressed Areas List for 2008 identifies all counties with three year average unemployment rates equal to or greater than 120 percent of the statewide unemployment rate. All sixteen counties on last year's distressed list *remain* on this year's list. Clallam and Mason counties have been *added*, bringing the total up to eighteen counties on the current list.

Three Year Average Unemployment Rates Used To Determine Distressed Areas ¹

	Three Year Average Unemployment Rate (Jan 2005-Dec 2007)	Distressed Area: Unemployment Rate Greater Than or Equal to
Washington State	5.0	6.0
Adams County	6.3	Adams
Asotin County	5.0	
Benton County	5.4	
Chelan County	5.3	
Clallam County	6.1	Clallam
Clark County	5.9	
Columbia County	7.6	Columbia
Cowlitz County	6.7	Cowlitz
Douglas County	5.0	
Ferry County	8.8	Ferry
Franklin County	6.8	Franklin
Garfield County	5.2	
Grant County	6.5	Grant
Grays Harbor County	7.2	Grays Harbor
Island County	5.3	
Jefferson County	5.1	
King County	4.1	
Kitsap County Kittitas County	4.7 5.3	
Klickitat County	7.2	Klickitat
Lewis County	7.2	Lewis
Lincoln County	5.6	Lewis
Mason County	6.0	Mason
Okanogan County	6.6	Okanogan
Pacific County	6.8	Pacific
Pend Oreille County	7.5	Pend Oreille
Pierce County	5.2	Fend Oreme
San Juan County	3.9	
Skagit County	5.3	
	0.0	

Workforce Explorer, Home

Skamania County	7.1	Skamania
Snohomish County	4.5	
Spokane County	5.1	
Stevens County	7.3	Stevens
Thurston County	4.7	
Wahkiakum County	6.9	Wahkiakum
Walla Walla County	5.3	
Whatcom County	4.6	
Whitman County	4.0	
Yakima County	6.8	Yakima

1 Prepared in cooperation with the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Washington State Employment Security Department Labor Market and Economic Analysis April 29, 2008 benchmark: March 2007