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Unemployment Insurance Purpose and Intent

Created in the Social Security Act of 1935:

= Offers a federal/state program with incentives for states to adopt
conforming programs.

= Provides partial income replacement during involuntary unemployment as
a matter of right, with dignity and dispatch - reasonable wage
restrictions.

= Meets program costs using insurance principles.

= Maintains purchasing power - stabilizes economy.

= Prevents worker dispersal of an employers’ trained work force.
= Provides employer incentive to stabilize employment.

= Facilitates access to reemployment services.
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Authority derives from federal and state law

» United States Code (USC)
» Federal Unemployment Compensation Act - Title 26 USC

» Social Security Act - 42 U.S.C. §8§ 501-504, 1101-1105
» Stafford Act (DUA)
» CARES Act (multiple areas)

» Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
» Federal Guidance (UIPL, TEGL)

» Washington Title 50 RCW

» Washington Title 192 WAC
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Special Types of Ul Claims

Programs in existing law:

Training Benefits

Shared Work

Trade Readjustment Assistance (TRA)
Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC)
Extended Benefits (EB)

Self Employment Assistance Program (SEAP)
Temporary Total Disability (TTD)

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
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Enacted as needed with new legislation:
» State Additional Benefits, when enacted (Last occurrence 1994-1995)
» State Supplemental Benefits, when enacted (Last occurrence 2010)

» Federal Supplemental Benefit Payments, when enacted




ESD Programs Related to COVID-19

Pandemic Response
Special Ul Payment Programs Enacted

» Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)

Extended Benefits (EB) (100% federally financed)

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)

Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) (expired 7/25)
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Lost Wages Assistance (LWA) (payable for weeks ending between 8/1 and 9/5)

Other Provisions

» Benefit Charge Relief Pool (state)

» Charge Relief for Reimbursable Employers (federal)
» Waiting week paid by federal funds (federal)

» Charge Relief for Shared Work (federal/state)




Coordination of Programs

Ul Program Progression under the CARES Act

Reference UIPL No. 14-20

*Duration dependent on state law
*WBA based on state law

lar UC

~
*Available March 29, 2020 (once state signs an agreement) through December 26, 2020

#Duration = 13 weeks NOTF - -
*WBA based on Regular UC claim If an individual bfecomt?s eligible
sSection 2107 of the CARES Act, reference UIPL No. 17-20 for one of the prior claim types,

they must stop collecting the
current claim and move back in
the progression.

Self-employed, gig
economy workers,
and those with
insufficient work
history

Once verified that they are
not eligible for Regular UC

and meet one of the
COVID-19 related reasons,

enter here r state is not triggered on

e Available if state is triggered “on” to EB —if not triggered “on,” individual proceeds ta PUA For example, if an individual is
r

collecting PUA and the state
triggers onto EB, the individual
must stop collecting PUA and
file for EB.

eDuration up to 13 or 20 weeks, dependent on state unemployment rate and triggers
*WBA based on Regular UC claim
sFederal-State Extended Unemployment Compensation Act of 1970 (26 U.5.C. §3304 note)

* Individuals must meet one of the COVID-19 related reasons listed in the CARES Act

s Available February 2, 2020 through December 26, 2020

sDuration up to 39 weeks (minus Regular UC and EB) = Add up to 7 weeks if state EB provides for High Unemployment Period
*WBA calculated by state accordance in UIPL No. 16-20

*Section 2102 of the CARES Act, reference UIPL No. 16-20

. Available March 29, 2020 (once state signs an agreement) through July 25, 2020
. Additional $600 per week for Regular UC, PEUC, EB, PUA, STC, TRA, DUA, and SEA

. Section 2104 of the CARES Act, reference UIPL No. 15-20
- Last updated

04/14/20




Emergency Rules and Suspended Laws

Emergency Rules filed by ESD

Easing penalties and due dates for claimants and employers
Easing requirements for claimants (e.g. job searches)

Expanding eligibility for Shared Work

Declaring certain separation reasons to be allowable for benefits

Holding payment when ESD suspects fraud
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Relieving benefit charges

Laws Suspended by Governor Proclamation

» Job search requirements

» “Waiting week” (first week of claim being unpaid)
» Benefit charging for Shared Work




Ul Claims Benefit Eligibility

Monetary laws set the amount of benefits
» Recently attached to a job (within last 18 months)

» Worked more than casually (680 hours in base year = about 17 full-
time weeks)

» Wages only partially replaced (benefits pay up to about 50% of wages)

» Regular benefits paid for up to 26 weeks if maximum weekly benefit
amount is received each week

» Extensions and special programs may extend this limit




Benefit Year and Base Year

Base Year - when wages/hours were worked

» Never uses current quarter’s wages or hours

» Never “double dip” or use same wages on two claims

» Uses first 4 of last 5 completed calendar quarters

» Sometimes uses the last 4 completed quarters (alternate base year)
>

Result: “valid” or “invalid” monetary determination

Benefit Year - when benefits can be paid
» Starts Sunday of application week; lasts 52 weeks
» Need not be “unemployed”

» Only one benefit year at a time




Monetary Qualifications

“Valid” Monetary

» Minimum 680 hours of covered employment in base year

» Subsequent base years - claimants must requalify by earning at least six times
their new weekly benefit amount since prior base year was established

“Invalid” Monetary

» Less than 680 hours covered employment in base year, or

» Cannot requalify based on new earnings in subsequent base year

» Claimants can reapply the next quarter to try new base year

Wage Types Used on Claims

» Washington State Wages - Unemployment Compensation (UC)

» Wages from Another State - Combined Wage Claim (CWC)

» Military Wages - Unemployment Compensation for Ex-Military (UCX)

» Federal Civilian Wages - Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees
(UCFE)




How much is a claimant paid?
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)

» Average earnings for the two quarters in the base year with
highest earnings

» WBAis 3.85% of that average amount
» Subject to maximum/minimum WBA for year
» Maximum WBA = $844; Minimum WBA = $201 (July 2020)

Maximum Benefits Payable (MBP)
» Lesser of 26 times WBA or 1/3 of total base year wages

» Benefits paid for any given week claimed may be reduced by a
portion of any income earned that week




Benefits Available Depend on Total Gross

Wages in Base Year

» Judy Rodriguez and Tyrone Washington work for $20 per hour, 40 hours
per week

» Judy worked all year; Tyrone worked six months (April-September)

» Both earned same weekly benefit amount, but maximum benefits
payable differs

| JudyRodriguez | Tyrone Washington

Total Gross Wages in Base Year $41,600 $20,800
Average of Two Highest Quarters $10,400 $10,400
Weekly Benefit Amount $400 $400
26 times WBA $10,400 $10,400
1/3 total gross wages in base year $13,867 $6,933
Maximum Benefits Payable $10,400 $6,933

Duration if full WBA taken each week 26 18




Ul Claims Benefit Eligibility

Non-monetary laws determine eligibility from week-to-
week. Claimants must:

» Be unemployed “through no fault of their own”
» Be eligible every week

» Able to work

» Available to accept work; and

» Actively seeking work (currently waived)

» Report every week

» Claimants are not eligible if they:

» Refuse work, are an illegal worker, are in a baccalaureate
program, etc.




(Job) Separation Issues

“Unemployed Through No Fault of their Own”

» Lack of work
» Fired
» But not for misconduct connected to the work
» Not on strike
» Quit with good cause

» If claimants quit for a reason that is not good cause, they
may be denied benefits

» Must “purge” the quit denial by waiting seven calendar
weeks following the separation, and earning seven times
their WBA in covered employment

» Mostly work-connected reasons




Emergency Rule - Lack of Work

The following non-telecommuting employees are deemed
separated due to lack of work

» Employees ordered to stay at home by government official
» Employees at high-risk of COVID-19

» Employees in same household as high-risk individuals

» Employees providing direct care to a high-risk individual

» Employees at worksite not following government safety rules
and guidance to prevent spread of COVID-19




Voluntary Quit Allowed
in Certain Circumstances

Allowable reasons to “quit with good cause”

>

>

To accept a bona fide offer of work; or to enter the training portion of an
approved apprenticeship program

Due to illness/disability of the worker or their family; when relocating for a
spouse’s work transfer; or for protection from domestic violence or stalking

When usual compensation or hours reduced by 25% or more; if worksite
changed to a greater distance or more difficult travel

If the worksite safety deteriorated and was reported, or when illegal
activities occur in the worksite

If work changed and now violates the worker’s religious or moral beliefs

Working both a full-time & part-time job, quitting the part-time job, then
losing the full-time job involuntarily




Voluntary Quit Study Bill (ESSB 5473)

Study law and trust fund impacts if the following quits were deemed to be good
cause:

» Separation because care for a child or vulnerable adult became inaccessible
» The employer, without a commensurate change in pay, either:

» Substantially increased the employee’s job duties

» Significantly changed the employee’s working conditions

» Employee left work to relocate outside the labor market to be closer to their
minor child

Report to Legislature and Governor due November 6, 2020




“Able and Available”

Able to work and available to accept work
Actually be “unemployed” (working less than full-time)

Be physically/mentally able to perform work required
Available for customary hours and pay for that job market
Intends to accept suitable work immediately when offered
Can legally work - either a citizen or alien with work visa
Not on Workers’ Compensation time loss

Not in school, unless with the Commissioner’s approval
Registered for work in our automated job bank
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For PUA - claimants must be otherwise able and available but for COVID-19 reasons

Ability and availability for work are not clearly defined in law,
but there’s no “good cause” to pay benefits to someone unable
or unavailable for work




Recent “able and available” permanent rules

» Hours of availability (proposed rule, not yet effective)

» Currently, claimants have to be available for all hours customary for their
occupation, even if the customary hours are 24/7

» Proposed rule, claimants only need to be available for 40 hours customary for
their occupation

» Out of country (effective July 5, 2020)
» A claimant can file a claim while outside of the U.S. IF:
1. They meet the same able and available criteria as everyone else AND EITHER:

2a. They are legally authorized to work in the country in which they are located

2b. They are immediately available for work in the U.S.

2c. They are a military spouse/domestic partner and are authorized to work on base




Claimants must file each week to
receive Ul benefits

Report as required

Send complete information

Submit timely claims (not early, not too late)

Report all work performed

>
>
» Attend scheduled meetings at WorkSource Center (currently virtual only)
>
>

Explain income that is reportable

Deductible income: Not deductible income:

=\Wages and earned income (including self-
employment income)

=assigned holiday and vacation pay

=pay in lieu of notice

=certain pensions (base year employer)

=reservist pay for duty that lasts more than 72
hours

mseverance pay unless itis
pay in lieu of notice
"non-earned income
=accrued vacation pay
=certain pensions (not from
base-year employer)
=jury duty




Refusing work can mean denial of benefits

“Work refusal” includes

Failing to apply for a job when directed
Refusing an offer of work

Failing to participate in a bona-fide interview

Preventing an employer from offering a job
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Refusing to return to customary self-employment

» Refusing work may also create questions of availability

Claimant may be denied benefits for refusing suitable work
without good cause

» Must “purge” the work-refusal denial by waiting seven calendar weeks
following the refusal, and earning seven times their WBA in covered
employment




“Suitable Work”

In keeping with the person’s prior work experience, education, and training

If there is no prior experience or training, any work is suitable if the person
has the physical and mental ability to perform it

For those with agricultural work in base year, any agricultural labor is
suitable unless deemed specifically unsuitable for that person

When considering if work is suitable, must look at
» Degree of risk to health, safety, and morals
» Physical fitness to perform the work
» Length of unemployment and job prospects
» Distance of available work within customary commute patterns

» Such other factors, including state and national emergencies, as
commissioner may deem pertinent




“Suitable Work” Special Cases

Part-time eligible claimants - work is suitable if it is 17 or fewer hours a
week or if it is the customary full-time hours for that occupation

COVID-19 isolation or quarantine - Work is not suitable if you have to break
isolation or quarantine to take it

Persons recovering from illness or injury - when work in the customary
occupation is unsuitable, then work is suitable if it is within the claimant’s
physical capabilities

Claimant is not able to perform the work - work that the person cannot
physically or mentally perform is never suitable

Self-employed - individuals making satisfactory progress in an approved
Self-Employment Assistance Program need not accept work or be available
for work




What Suitable Work is NOT

Work is not suitable when:
» Job is vacant due to a strike, lockout, other labor dispute

» Wages, hours, or work conditions are substantially less favorable than prevailing
conditions for similar jobs in that labor market

» Job requires worker to join or resign from a company union or bona-fide labor
organization

Work can be considered unsuitable for other reasons if the work:
» Violates a claimant’s sincere religious, moral, or ethical beliefs
Resides outside an individual’s normal labor market

Causes an undue risk to an individual’s health or safety

>
» Fall outside an individual’s experience, education, and training
>
» Falls beyond an individual’s physical fitness or ability

Claimant is never required to seek or accept unsuitable work




Work-Search Requirements

Actively seek work - requirement each week
» Use “customary trade practices” (job search techniques) for that locale

» Minimum of three contacts per week (with employers, at WorkSource, or a
combination)

» Accept work search directives issued by WorkSource or Claims Center

Exceptions to active work search

» On standby or partially employed each week, or in a Shared Work Plan

v

Member of a union where union hall handles job search

v

Escaping domestic violence or stalking, or has anti-harassment order

v

In training with “commissioner approval” (CAT, Training Benefits,
Apprenticeship, SEAP)

Registering for work

» New Ul claimants are automatically registered with local WorkSource office




Standby

Two types of standby

» Short-time layoff when employee expected to go back to same job

» Time between accepting job and starting job

Effect of standby

» Individuals do not have to search for work

» Individuals only have to be available for work by maintaining reasonable
contact in case they need to start work earlier than expected

Standby during the pandemic

» Since Governor through executive order made job search optional, the agency
through emergency rule placed everyone on standby




What shall we do with Emergency Rules?

Emergency Rules filed by ESD

Easing penalties and due dates for claimants and employers
Easing requirements for claimants (e.g. job searches)

Expanding eligibility for Shared Work

Declaring certain separation reasons to be allowable for benefits

Holding payment when ESD suspects fraud
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Relieving benefit charges




Emergency Rules and Suspended Laws

March 9
March 17

March 18

March 18
March 24-25
March 25
March 27
April 8

May 20
June 10
June 19

First batch of emergency rules (standby, suitable work, good cause for missing

deadlines) adopted

Governor signs HB 2965 which creates $25 million pot of money to help offset
benefit charges for employers impacted by COVID-19

President signs Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), authorizes
waiting week waivers, job search waivers, and flexibility in administering Ul

programs
Governor issues proclamation waiving the waiting week

Governor proclamation and emergency rules waiving job search adopted
Emergency rule expanding eligibility for Shared Work adopted

President signs the CARES Act

Lack of work emergency rule offers Ul eligibility to high-risk employees
Emergency rule pausing benefits for claims that are suspected to be fraudulent
Began permanent rulemaking process for many emergency rules

Governor issues proclamation non-charging Shared Work benefits




Emergency Rules and Suspended Laws

Starting permanent rulemaking keeps the emergency rules effective
while normal rulemaking progresses. Follow along at
https://esd.wa.gov/newsroom/rulemaking

The following emergency rules currently have an expiration date
(which may be suspended by starting new permanent rulemaking):

» Non-charging employers for benefits paid during the waiting week
(expires Oct. 8)

» Relief of benefit charges if claimant received a direct request to
isolate/quarantine (expires Oct. 28)

» Tweak to suitable work rules for extended benefits to bring us into
conformity with federal law (expires Nov. 14)



https://esd.wa.gov/newsroom/rulemaking

Questions?




