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Quarterly Tax Reports

Due the last day of the month following the
end of the calendar quarter

* First Quarter — April 30th

* Second Quarter — July 31st

* Third Quarter — October 31st
* Fourth Quarter — January 31st



Quarterly Tax Reports

Most important information we get from the
tax reports:

* For each employee:
—Full Name
—Social Security Number
—Wages paid in the quarter
—Hours worked in the quarter



Quarterly Tax Reports

Info from tax reports used to:

* Calculate How Much Employer Owes Us In
Tax

* Calculate Employer Tax Rates

* Determine if Employees are Entitled to
Benefits

* Report Jobs and Wage Data to Public



First Important Formula

TAXABLE WAGES
X TAX RATE

TAX DUE



Taxable vs. Excess Wages

Taxable Wage Base = the amount of wages
an employer pays each employee during the
year that is subject to tax

Excess Wages = the amount of wages an
employer pays an employee beyond the
taxable wage base



Taxable vs. Excess Wages

Taxable Wage Base increases each year
2020 - $52,700
2019 - $49,800
2018 - $47,300
2017 - $45,000
2016 - $44,000
2015 - $42,100
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Taxable vs. Excess Wages

Compare Taxable Wage Base (2019)
Washington: $49,800

Oregon: $40,600

Delaware: $16,500

Texas: $9,000

Arizona, Florida, Tennessee: $7,000



Second Important Formula

BENEFIT CHARGES
TAX RATE = --- e
TAXABLE WAGES

Do you want to eat 3/4 or
1/100 of this eyeball pizza?




Tax Rate Basics

4 Parts of a Tax Rate
1. Experience Rate (0% - 5.40%)
7. Social Cost (.10% - 1.46%)
3. EAF/State Tax (.02% - .03%)
4. Solvency Surcharge (0% - .20%)
Experience Rate + Social Cost < 6.00%
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Tax Rate Basics

Tax Rates (2020) (Current)
* Lowest tax rate: 0.13%
* Average 2020 tax rate: 0.99%
* Highest tax rate: 5.72%

Tax Rates (2021) (Projected)
* Lowest tax rate: 0.72%
* Highest tax rate: 6.23%
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Relief of Benefit Charges

When benefits are paid to a claimant,
but those benefits are not charged to
one of the base year employers, it is

said that employer received “relief of
benefit charges.”
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Relief of Benefit Charges

Normally employers will get relief If:

* Employee quit for reasons not attributable
to the employer

* Employee discharged for misconduct

°* Employee was a replacement for someone
else receiving PFML benefits

* Individual could not meet job prerequisites
as required by law
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Relief of Benefit Charges

Due to pandemic, will not charge employers:
* Waiting Week
* Shared Work

* Any of the benefits from the Federal
CARES Act programs (i.e. the extra $600)

We always do not charge employers for:
* Extended benefits
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Relief of Benefit Charges

Under emergency rule, will not charge

employers if:

* Shut down or curtailed operations due to
presence of COVID-19 in the workplace

* Layoff because employee was personally
told to go Iinto isolation or quarantine
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Relief of Benefit Charges

Apply by September 30 for a share of the
$25 million fund for relief of charges If:

* Had to close or curtall operation due to a
COVID-19 order from the Governor, state,
or local health officials

* Brought the employee back for at least 4
weeks with at least 90% pay

16



Reimbursable Employers

The following employers may choose to be
reimbursable:

* 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Agencies
* Tribal Governments
* State and Local Government Agencies
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Reimbursable Employers

°* Do NOT pay quarterly taxes

* Reimburse the trust fund dollar for dollar
for the benefits paid out

* Billed quarterly for benefits paid in the prior
qguarter

* Not eligible for the same relief of charges
as taxable employers
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Reimbursable Employers

Reimbursables are not charged at all for:
* Waiting Week
* Shared Work

* Any of the benefits from the Federal
CARES Act programs (i.e. the extra $600)

Reimbursables get half off:
* Extended benefits
* All other benefits J—
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